It’s a Wonderful World

Music, Dance & Hawaiian Culture
Through the Legacy of Israel Kamakawiwo’ole
3-Hour Mini-Retreat with Karen Chun
November 21, 2020


Hawaii is not a state of mind, but a state of grace.
~ Paul Theroux

 

Join Hawaiian resident, Karen Chun, for a three-hour immersion in the culture, music and dances of Hawaii without ever leaving home.

Karen will take you on a journey behind the glitz and glamour of Hawaii and into the beautiful indigenous culture that lies hidden beyond Waikiki, experienced through the inspiring music of Hawaiian native, Israel Kamakawiwo’ole.

Israel Kamakawiwo’ole was a young leader who through his revival of Hawaiian music and the voicing of Hawaiian values, created a pathway for the learning of the dying Hawaiian language and for the forgotten skills of the world’s most accomplished ocean navigators, as well as the return to Hawaiian music by Hawaiians.

During our retreat, we will dive into a true understanding of Hawaii through its history, music and dance.  We’ll learn to hula (well sort of), we’ll learn its indigenous history and we’ll learn the importance of Israel Kamakawiwo’ole’s music to its culture.  And along the way we’ll write, dance, sing, share and discuss how we can learn more about ourselves and our own yeanings for authenticity and meaning through the legacy of Israel Kamakawiwo’ole.

Karen Chun is a graduate of the Sedona Women’s Institute’s Facilitator Training Program.  She has a Master’s Degree in both Library Science and Educational Curriculum Design. Karen currently works as a curriculum designer in both Hawaii and Hoi An, Viet Nam. She creates curriculum for the global studies classes in Hawaii’s public schools for the English Language Center she founded in Viet Nam.  She recently completed a children’s book and is ready for her next writing project.  Karen believes that her life is enhanced through sharing in a safe space with like-minded women.

JOIN US Saturday, November 21st on Zoom from 9am ~ 12pm PT (10am ~ 1pm MT, 11am ~ 2pm CT, 12pm ~ 3pm ET) for a 3-hour mini-retreat with Karen Chun.

RETREAT FEE:  $95
Please note: If you cannot afford the registration fee due to current economic issues, please contact info@SedonaWomensInstitute.com with a line of explanation in order to receive our discounted rate.

TO REGISTER and pay your retreat fee, please click here.

OR CALL US at 928-254-1897

 

 

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.

Copyright©2003-2020. All Rights Reserved. The content of this women's retreats, facilitator training school, workshops, mentoring, retreats for women, and travel adventures site is owned exclusively by the Sedona Women's Institute™ based in Sedona, Arizona.

Graphic Design by Indigo Disegno. | Women's Retreats Website Design by Reliable Web Designs.

Like us on Facebook